Frédéric Sautereau


At the Edge of Europe


Fifteen years have passed since the fall of the Berlin wall and the European Union’s inclusion of eastern states. On May 1st, 2004, the three Baltic countries (Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania), five central European countries (Hungary, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia and Slovenia) and two Mediterranean countries (Cyprus and Malta) all became members of the European Union. Bulgaria and Romania followed suit in 2007.
With the enlargement of the European Union, the eastern border has changed. Turkey, Moldavia, Ukraine, Belarus and Russia have newly defined neighbours. Border or frontier? Whatever the characterization, a new line divides the continent once again.


Work completed between June 2000 and August 2003

By Guy-Pierre Chomette and Frédéric Sautereau

français | english